Moogfest 2016 brings an impressive and eclectic lineup!


This years Moogfest 2016 will be bringing you some of the best talents fro around the world. These talents inlcude
Gary Numan (three night residency), GZA (two night residency), Odesza, Laurie Anderson, Oneohtrix Point Never, Suzanne Ciani, Blood Orange, and Sun Ra Arkestra, with keynote speaches by transhumanist pharma tycoon Dr. Martine Rothblatt and VR pioneer Jaron Lanier.

Over one hundred musical acts including Explosions in the Sky, sunn O))), The Orb, Daniel Lanois, DJ Harvey, Tory Lanez, Robert Hood, Simian Mobile Disco, Ben Frost, Floating Points, King Mez, Kode9, Hundred Waters, Empress Of, Mad Professor, Mike Dean, Moses Sumney, Mac McCaughan, Lunice, Ryan Hemsworth, Tim Hecker, YACHT & more to be announced. *Complete alphabetized list of talent below.

Reggie Watts, comedic entertainer and synth-lover, announces the lineup in an improvised song and video.

Moogfest 2016 Talent Announcement with Reggie Watts
$249 for 3-Day General Admission and $499 for 3-Day VIP. All prices exclusive of applicable fees.

Moogfest – the synthesis of music, art, and technology – today announced their tenth, and most experiential, lineup yet. Headlining performances include Gary Numan playing a three night residency of his trailblazing early albums, a two-night residency by GZA, ODESZA, Laurie Anderson, Oneohtrix Point Never, Suzanne Ciani, Blood Orange, and Sun Ra Arkestra; with keynote presentations by transhumanist activist and pharma tycoon Dr. Martine Rothblatt, and computer scientist Jaron Lanier, a pioneer in the field of virtual reality. More than one hundred other acts are already confirmed to perform, while the conference program continues to develop in partnership with a range of esteemed universities, innovative businesses, and art/technology organizations. Program partners include MIT Media Lab, Google, Duke University, Georgia Institute of Technology, The New Museum’s New Inc., IDEO, Gray Area, and the EyeO Festival.

During the day, Moogfest explores the future of technology and creativity with a mind-expanding conference featuring panels, workshops and installations. At night, Moogfest celebrates the future of sound with performances by early pioneers in electronic music, alongside pop and avant garde experimentalists. Notably, this announcement features many creative thinkers–like polymath artist Laurie Anderson, and GZA of the Wu-Tang Clan–who will participate in multiple parts of the diverse program.

For the first time ever, Moogfest will take place in Durham, NC. Moogfest will be located at seventeen venues throughout the walkable downtown core, from intimate galleries to grand theatres, including a free outdoor stage with participatory, all-ages programming. Durham promises to be an ideal setting for Moogfest: a city uniquely blending diversity, authenticity, world class innovation, and culture, with a long history of great music.

Program highlights:

Pioneers in Electronic Music
Electronic music pioneer Gary Numan will perform his first three albums (Replicas, The Pleasure Principle, and Telekon) over three consecutive nights in three different venues. Musical experimentalist Laurie Anderson weaves stories and song in her solo performance, “The Language of the Future” and then returns to the stage the next day to host a daytime conversation.

Future Pop – Odesza, Blood Orange

Experimentalists – Ben Frost , Sunn O)))

Ambient Music Innovators – Daniel Lanois, Brian Eno’s

Hip-Hop – Tory Lanez, King Mez, Well$, Lunice

The Orchestral Ensembles – Arthur Russell, Floating Points live
Future of Creativity – Dr. Martine Rothblatt , Jaron Lanier

Dance Floor Titans – Dj, Harvey, Robert Hood, Simian Mobile Disco, Kyle hall

Don Buchla Celebration – Suzanne Ciani, Nine inch Nails, Alessandro Ciani

All Ages – Yo Gabba Gabba, DJ Lance Rock

Durationals, Hip Hop producer Mike Dean, Robert Rich live

An Intimate Sanctuary – Juliana Barwick, Moses Sumney, Welsh Music Prize Winner Gwenno

Curated Conversations – Neil Harbisson (Transhuminism), Chuck Lightning

Reggae Hacker Soundsystem – David Katz, Laurent “Tippy” Alfred, Lister Hewan-Lowe

Radio and the Radiophonic – Anna Festival, Anna Friz, Jeff Kolar

Film Festival – Three Graces, Triptych, , I Speak Machine, The Haxan CLoak

Art Installations – Interactive Media Art throughout the festival

Masterclasses and Workshops – Workshops and Expert Demos hosted by theater spaces
Stay tuned for schedule and registration details.


Artists scheduled to appear include:
ADULT., Alessandro Cortini, Amos Gaynes, Angus Taylor, Anna Friz, Antenes, Arthur Russell’s Instrumentals, Ben Frost, Ben Russell, Bicep, Blazer Soundsystem, Blood Orange, The Body, Bootsy Collins, Christian Rich, Chuck Lightning, Daniel Bachman, Daniel Lanois, Dave Tompkins, David Katz, Dawn of Midi, Dawn Richard, Daye Jack, Demo Taped, Dennis Bovell, Dennis McKenna, Denzel Curry, DJ Harvey, DJ Lance Rock & Yo Gabba Gabba, DJ Nanny Cantaloupe, Dorit Chrysler, Earthly, Emma Coates, Empress Of, Explosions in the Sky, Floating Points, Gary Numan, Gil Weinberg & Shimon Project, Greg Fox, Grouper, Gwenno, GZA, Hanz, The Haxan Cloak, Heathered Pearls, Hieroglyphic Being, Hundred Waters, I Speak Machine, Jaakko Eino Kalevi, Jaron Lanier, Jeff Kolar, Jlin, Joe Paradiso, Julia Holter, Juliana Huxtable, Julianna Barwick, Justin Grotelueschen, Kaitlin Prest, Karen Gwyer, Kate Stone, King Mez, Kode9, Kristen Gallerneaux, Kyle Hall, Kyle McDonald, Larry Gus, Laurel Halo, Laurent “Tippy” Alfred, Laurie Anderson, Leopold Ross, Lister Hewan-Lowe, Lotic, Lunice, M. Geddes Gengras, Mac McCaughan, Mad Professor, Made Of Oak, Mark Mothersbaugh, Dr. Martine Rothblatt, Mike Dean, Modular on the Spot, Moses Sumney, Mykki Blanco, No Effects with Jesse Cohen, Odesza, Olivia Block, Oneohtrix Point Never, Onyx Ashanti, The Orb, Paula Temple, Professor Toon, Qrion, Quintron and Miss P*ssycat, Rabit, RBTS Win, Reggie Watts, Rich Vreeland, Rick Smith, Rival Consoles, Robert Hood, Robert Rich, Ryan Germick, Ryan Hemsworth, Sam Conran, Scott McCloud, Shallou, Sharon Mashihi, Silver Apples, Simian Mobile Disco, Son Lux, Song Exploder with Hrishikesh, Sun Ra Arkestra, Sunn O))), Susan Kare, Suzanne Ciani, Tim Hecker, Toby Heys, Tory Lanez, Trandle, Tyondai Braxton, UV boi, Van Partible, Veronica Vasicka, Via App, Well$, YACHT, Zombi, Neil Harbisson

Previous Fatboy Slim's first ever Ibiza residency announced
Next Soundcloud launches subscription 'Go' service